Brad Hodge appointed Kings XI Punjab head coach

Brad Hodge has been appointed as the head coach of IPL side Kings XI Punjab. Hodge will report to former KXIP player Virender Sehwag, who now serves as the franchise's Director of Cricket.
Hodge, 42, is among the most sought-after personnel in T20 cricket for his immense body of work in the shortest format of cricket. He is one of just eight cricketers to aggregate more than 7000 runs in T20 cricket and remains an active player in franchise cricket. He will turn out for Melbourne Renegades in the forthcoming season of the Big Bash League.

BCCI announced IPL start and end dates for next five years

The stature of the Indian Premier League (IPL) as a globally recognized tournament enhanced further as the league is all set to find a dedicated space for itself in the ICC calendar.

The latest Future Tour Programme (FTP) commencing from 2019 till 2023 has recognised the IPL. This means that it is the only domestic league during which there would be no international cricket played around the world.

The newly wed couple will travel to South Africa

The newly wed couple will travel to South Africa where Virat will start prepping for the upcoming series and Anushka will spend New Year's Eve with him and return in the first week of January to begin
the next schedule of Anand L Rai's film with Shah Rukh Khan in Mumbai. She will also start prepping for Sui Dhaaga as the shooting for the same starts in February 2018 with Varun Dhawan. Anushka will also be busy with the marketing and promotions of Pari which is releasing on 9th February.

Jonty Rhodes parts ways with Mumbai Indians ahead of IPL 2018

After nine years of association, Jonty Rhodes has snapped ties with the Mumbai Indians, with the South African moving on to focus on his personal life."It has been a remarkable journey with Mumbai Indians,
one that I will cherish all my life. Over the last nine years, Mumbai Indians has set sporting benchmarks both on and off the field, and personally, it's been quite a remarkable journey for me to work with fantastic set of individuals like Sachin, Rohit, Anil, Ricky, Mahela and all the support staff and players over the years", Jonty said.

What happens with Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals?

Both CSK and RR can retain/use RTM for any of the players who represented them in the 2015 edition of the Indian Premier League and then moved to
Gujarat Lions or Rising Pune Supergiant. This has all but cleared MS Dhoni's way back to Chennai Super Kings.

IPL 2018 Auctions: Retention Policy

As per the governing council's decision, a franchisee can retain five players using one of the two combinations - three pre-auction retentions and two RTMs or two pre-auction retentions and three RTMs. Either way, a franchisee can retain or use RTM for a maximum of three players in the auction. Moreover, if a franchisee doesn't retain even a single player before the auction, they still can't use more than three RTMs.

Additionally, the franchisees have to keep the following in mind before retaining players:

- Maximum of three Capped Indian players.
- Maximum of two Overseas players.
- Maximum of two Uncapped Indian players.

AB smashing a six into the stands

The South African superstar has been a solid performer for RCB, and his batting exploits are second to none. He can win matches from impossible situations
and when paired up with Virat Kohli, the duo are indestructible. RCB would make a mistake by not retaining him.
ABD in 2017 – 9 matches, 216 runs
Overall IPL career – 129 matches, 3473 runs